Grillin’ in the Mist

It’s a foggy evening in Cheyenne. That is important because it means we didn’t grill pork chops. Which means we didn’t eat my homemade applesauce. Which means that the only reason we chopped up all those apples was to provide excellent OutTV.

The buffet I’ve set out for the pregnant squirrels is a big hit in the neighborhood. Especially with the apples I set out today. We had squirrels and all sorts of birds, plus a bunny. My blog today was going to introduce you to all the birds. I had a couple I needed to work really hard to identify. Including orioles. I was really excited to find out Wyoming has orioles. Then, just as I was wrapping up, I discovered our new birds might be grosbeaks. My head hurts.

The funny thing is that we’re serving corn this week and most of our birds are yellow. Five different varieties of yellow bird. Coincidence?

While the apple sauce was cooking, I kept hearing this popping noise. I thought maybe the lid wasn’t on right on the crock pot and kept going to look. Then I figured out that the little yellow and black birds were flying into the windows. They, like Obi, don’t seem to have the whole concept of glass down. At the end of this video you’ll hear a clunk…and my “oh gosh” as a bird hits the window.

2 responses to “Grillin’ in the Mist

  1. Love the videos, especially the part of the second video where you can tell the cats are looking at the same bird because their head movements are synchronized.

Leave a comment