Day one

Today was my first day of self employment. Just as important, it was Kitten Thunder’s first day of having a new work schedule. The problem? I don’t think anyone told them about the change.

In their defense, it has been a weird week. I was home early on Friday. Then, on Saturday, The Boy and I headed off for Christmas part two with my family. We were sneaky about it and Oliver didn’t know we were going until The Boy pulled his suitcase out at the last minute.

We returned last night.

So this morning, when we got up and prepared for work as usual, there was no reason for Kitten Thunder to think anything was different. I had a meeting all morning so I returned at lunch time. Then…I didn’t leave.

Obi stayed with me until I ate lunch and went back to my computer. But, when I was done for the day, I looked around and found I was alone. Hmmmm. I found Kitten Thunder upstairs taking their afternoon naps.

image

We’ll see how it goes tomorrow.

On another note, Oliver is limping. Of course he is. Because nothing makes a person feel good about self employment like unexpected expenses ON THE FIRST DAY they don’t have a guaranteed income. Grrr. Let’s hope this limp, if it is the dreaded Fever Of Unknown Origin returning, decides to make a quick exit with just one round of antibiotics.

Keep your fingers crossed for him. And if you hear a haunting sound coming from our region tomorrow at 9 a.m., it is us…taking a c-a-r to the v-e-t.

8 responses to “Day one

  1. That’s a great picture. If you ever decide to turn your house into a B&B, you should use that as your logo. I hope Oli’s limp is gone by the time you wake up tomorrow morning.

    • Kitten Thunder Bed & Breakfast. Sounds restful. Hee!

      Oliver does not have a fever so it must be an injury. He was treated with an injection at the vet, ear kisses as I carried him to the condo by my desk, and compression by Obi who spread out across him in the condo for most of the morning. Fingers crossed.

  2. Yay self employment 😀

  3. Sending good kitty-vibes to your Oli-man!

Leave a comment