Basket Cases, Part Two

This weekend I got lumber, stained it and brought it into the dining room to complete my shelves. Kitten Thunder, as usual, was on hand for inspection.

image

image

image

image

And then we had a little conflict.

image

image

image

image

Obi decided he’d “prefer” the baskets on the floor.

image

If you’re wondering why our bookshelves have no books, it is because I measured the room. I asked The Boy to measure. I reminded him that my family can NOT measure things. But he left town this weekend and I convinced myself I could do it; I only had to measure from the wall to the center support on each side.

That distance was approximately 70 inches. Since I am 65 inches tall, I decided I needed 7 foot shelves.

If that seems wrong…it is. I am NOT six and a half feet tall.

image

The Boy is home and he’ll be trimming the shelves so they fit tomorrow.

4 responses to “Basket Cases, Part Two

  1. It’s a crow’s nest for kitties! Surely you’ll leave that basket open so that Captain Cooncat and Long Hair Silver will have a prime vantage point while hunting for the white whale…

  2. Well, now I have shelf envy. I’m also jealous because your cats were able to settle their territorial dispute without making the basket topple over.

Leave a Reply

