Alpha Brat

Oliver is the Alpha cat in our house. He’s pretty relaxed about enforcing his role. He shares laps and boxes. He lets his brother win as many thunders as not.

But food? Oliver is ALPHA.

Lest there be any doubt, Oliver will eat things he doesn’t like just to make sure everyone knows he can eat before Obi. Like cheese.

Today, Obi was about to enjoy some nice grated cheese in the breakfast nook. Oliver came rushing in and shouldered his brother out of the way.

The brown kitten looked at me sadly.

I grabbed another pinch of cheese and put it on the other plate. Oliver rushed toward it.

The brown kitten looked at me sadly.

I swooped Oliver up into my arms and kissed his face. He tried to push away – must eat the cheese. “You’re Alpha cat,” I said. “Not Alpha brat.”

As I left the kitchen with Oliver, I glanced back at the breakfast nook.

The brown kitten looked up at me, happy. With a mouthful of cheese.

Leave a Reply

