Thunder Thunder

Behold! ‘Tis Obi, lord of the layout.

20140715_200554_8_bestshot

 

This picture was taken shortly after Oliver stomped across the layout and broke a train. The Boy was not too happy. As he was picking up the pieces, I snapped this picture and told the kittehs to come upstairs with me. Obi wanted to know why he had to go – he didn’t break anything.

***

Cheyenne is having some weather, as I’ve mentioned. Yesterday, at around 3 p.m., it started raining. It stopped long enough for me to go to a party for a friend and convince us that we could all sit out on the deck. Then a huge bolt of lightning struck, followed immediately by deafening thunder that sent us scurrying indoors.

And it rained.

And rained.

And rained.

And rained.

It’s still raining.

In the middle of the night, due to the sound of rain rain rain, I had to get up to use the bathroom. Just as I returned and settled in, the house was shaken by thunder. BIG THUNDER. The Boy jumped two inches off the mattress and was jolted awake. Holy cusswords were uttered. And he was asleep again.

And then I heard more thunder. A different thunder. The thunder of two kittens coming to “protect” me from the storm. I let Oliver under the covers with me and kissed his ears until he fell asleep. Obi was okay just tucking himself, forcefully, into my knee pits.

I felt so safe.

And it rained.

2 responses to “Thunder Thunder

  1. Knee pits! That’s (my) Thunder’s favorite sleeping place. I learn all the best vocabulary words from you.

Leave a Reply

